Know the 9 Avatars of Durga and 9 Colors to Wear This Festive Week


Hello, loves!


Are you excited about Navaratri? Well, to be very frank, being a Bengali girl Durga Puja is my all-time favourite festival where we buy new clothes and stuff, enjoy to our heart’s content. We observe 5 days of the festival but in other parts of the country, the festival extends for 9 days and is called Navaratri.



Navaratri or the 9 days when Maa Durga is worshipped in her 9 ‘Avatars’ is a divine time to do all good things. Hindu tradition quotes that this is the time of the year when good wins over evil and ‘Maa’ is a symbol of that goodness. She is worshipped in her 9 faces that symbolise 9 aspects of Humanity. She is the ‘Complete’ Goddess – an epitome of power and sympathy, savage for the devils and motherly for her children.

I am too excited to do this post as we will be not only talking about Maa Durga here but also the colours which you need to wear on those 9 days. So if you are interested to read a post that has the perfect mixture of Tradition and Fashion, keep on scrolling!

9 ‘Avatars’ of Maa Durga and their Colours:

  • Shailaputri Devi – Yellow


She is the first Goddess to be worshipped on Navaratri. Shailaputri literally means the daughter (putri) of the mountains (shaila). Variously known as Sati Bhavani, Parvati or Hemavati, the daughter of Hemavana – the king of the Himalayas, she is the first among Navadurgas. She is the embodiment of the power of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva.


  • Bhramacharini Devi – Green

She is the second form of Maa Durga and is worshipped on the second day of the Navaratri festival. Bharmacharini means one who practices devout austerity. She enlightens us in the magnificent embodiment of Durga with great powers and divine grace.  She is blissful and endows happiness, peace, prosperity and grace upon all devotees who worship her. Filled with bliss and happiness, she is the way to emancipation – Moksha.

  • Chandraghanta Devi – Grey


She is the third face of Maa Durga and is worshipped on the third day for peace, tranquillity and a blissful life.  She has a ‘chandra’ or half moon in her forehead in the shape of a ‘ghanta’ or bell. That is why she is called ‘Chandraghanta’. She is the apostle of bravery and possesses great strength to fight in the battle against demons.

  • Kushmanda Devi – Orange


Kushmanda is the fourth form of Maa Durga and is worshipped on the fourth day of Navaratri. The meaning of the name ‘Ku-shm-anda’ is as follows: ‘Ku’ = a little; ‘ushma’ = ‘warmth’; ‘anda’ = ‘the cosmic egg’. So she is considered the creator of the universe. She has eight or ten hands and she gives light to the universe – the source of creation.

  • Skandamata Devi – White


Skandamata Devi is the mother of Lord Skanda or Lord Kartikeya who was chosen to be the commander-in-chief of the Gods in their fight against evil. She is worshipped on the fifth day of the Navratri festival and is the fifth face of Maa Durga.

  • Katyayani Devi – Red


She is the sixth form of Maa Durga and is the daughter of Sage Kata, thus her name. He went for long austerities to get the blessing of the goddess. He wanted a daughter like her and so Devi Katyayani was born as an ‘Avatar’ to Kata.

In this Tuesday, Oct. 13, 2015 photo, Indians wearing traditional attire, performs Garba, a traditional dance of western Indian state of Gujarat, during Navratri festival celebrations in Ahmadabad, India. Dancing the Garba is an important part of celebrations in Gujarat during Navratri, or nine night festival which began on Tuesday. (AP Photo/Ajit Solanki)


  • Kaali or Kaalratri Devi – Blue

She is the seventh form of Maa Durga which is worshipped on the seventh day. She is fearless and has a sword in her right hand which symbolises the destruction of evil. She is as black as Goddess Kali and has three eyes that shine brightly. She is the fearless posture that can terrify every evil.


  • Maha Gauri Devi – Pink

Maha Gauri is the eight form of Maa Durga and she is intelligent, peaceful and calm. Due to the extreme austerities in the Himalayas, she turned black in colour but later Lord Shiva cleaned her with the water of the holy river Ganges after which she turned Maha Gauri or extreme white.

  • Siddhidatri Devi – Purple

Siddhidatri is the ninth form of Goddess Durga. She has supernatural healing powers and is always in a blissful and enchanting pose. She rides on her lion and she blesses all Gods, saints, yogis and all devotees as a manifestation of the Mother Goddess.


That’s all folks!

You can check out the video here on NAVARATRI MAKEUP LOOK


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here